4 E.M. Forster Novels That Mesmerize Modern Readers

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 LinkedIn 0 Email -- Buffer 0 0 Flares ×

E.M. Forster novels that continue to captivate readers.

English novelist E.M. Forster only published five novels in his lifetime. Even though his bibliography is limited in size Forster managed to envelope his well-plotted novels in irony that exposed the rampant hypocrisy in early-20th century British society.

Throughout Forster’s novels several key themes can be found, which reflect his personal challenges and experiences, such as his own homosexuality, interest in humanism and attachments to mysticism and symbology.

Much of Forster’s popularity and fame in the U.S. can be attributed to New York literary critic Lionel Trilling’s 1943 study about the author. Trilling inspired many readers to get to know Forster through his works, which helped created new generations of fans, as well as inspire several motion pictures of his novels.

Forster became a successful broadcaster on BBC Radio in the 1930s and 1940s. He lived most of his life with his mother and developed a long lasting and loving relationship with a married policeman, Bob Buckingham. Forster received several honors and medals, including declining a knighthood in 1949.

For anyone who hasn’t had the pleasure of reading Forster’s novels we’re sharing download links to his books below. As always, all books are believed to be in the public domain.

Howard’s End

A Room With A View

Where Angels Fear To Tread

The Longest Journey

Have you read E.M. Forster before? Do you think he has a unique or similar style in comparison to other authors during his time? Tell us what you think in the comments below.

Photo Credit: The British Library via CC

The following two tabs change content below.
Sarah Hartshorn is a marketing, public relations and social media professional with Vuze. She blogs about content, torrents, social media and a number of other tech topics. Sarah has been involved with traditional and digital marketing since 1998.